<< return to Pixycam.com

New Pixy 2. Do something when signature X approach

Hello, I’m new at this, and might be simple, but

1. I need to know if there is a world forum or chat live (IRC) to talk to people that are working with pixy or this is the right place.
  2. I want to have the Pixy camera installed and when an object approach Pixy and pixy recognize it, do something, like for example, move an arm attached to the same structure.

Let’s say, I want an arm to pick up something from a table only is an object reach the Pixy camera.

I saw this video and it shows an arm moving with pixy recognition. But it looks like the arm knows already the position of the dots where to put the lego square.

I want to have an arm that has two balls and depending the object that approach the robot, pixy recognize it and picks up one ball or the other.

Do you think this is possible?

Any idea?
Thank you! And hello to all.

Pixy can only control two servos itself. For a robot arm you’d need more servos. Many microcontrollers (like Arduinos) can control lots of servos.
You have to read the object coordinates from Pixy and guide the arm to the object. Therefore the arm ( or the hand ) has to be an object in Pixy, too.

First, thank youi for your reply.
So is Pixy such precise that knows exactly where is the object and send the arm to that position?
For example, let’s say I push a ball towards the robot, Pixy of course follow it, would the arm push the ball precisely? Once the ball it’s stop, not during the movement.

Thank you

Hi Juan,
Thanks for the message. It’s a good question. I’ve been told this is a classic computer vision problem – recovering 3d information based on the 2d camera information. In order to recover the 3d information, you can have more than 1 camera, like stereo, or you can take a picture, move the camera, take a picture and so on. It will allow you to use some math to recover the 3d information. It can be challenging.